Into the MLB Vault: Chipper Jones

Since obtaining the Greg Maddux and Mariano Rivera autographs, I have decided to build the 1999 SP Signature Edition autograph set (at least the Hall of Famers and soon-to-be inductees). Today’s addition crosses one name off the list and looks great alongside the Maddux.

Chipper Jones: 1999 SP Signature Edition Autograph

Chipper Jones

I want to be identified with one team. I don’t want to spend the last two or three years in my career floating around the league, trying to attain a number. I’ve never wanted to play anywhere else. Atlanta fits my style and my speed. I’ve gotten a chance to play for Bobby, who I think is the greatest manager of all time, for 17 of the 19 years. I’m a Southern kid. I was born and bred in the Braves organization. And I want to stay here.

The marriage between the Braves and myself has been a good one. It’s been one with give and take on both sides. So I’ve never wanted to wear another uniform. And they’ve shown me throughout the years, by never even letting me get remotely close to free agency, that they want me here. And that means a lot to me. I wouldn’t feel right going to the American League and DH-ing, just to get 3,000 hits or 500 homers. … Do I think I could stick around for another two or three years and get 3,000 hits or 500 homers if I really wanted it? Yeah. No doubt. Because I still have the ability to be productive. But that would mean me probably having to go somewhere else. And it means more to me to spend 19 years in one organization, in one uniform, and nobody else seeing me in a different ‘uni.’

Career Highlights & Accolades

8x All-Star Selection
1x World Series Champion
1x National League Most Valuable Player Award Winner
2x Silver Slugger Award Winner

What do you think?

