Into the MLB Vault: Chipper Jones

It’s hard not to get emotional when you talk about your parents and your kids and all the friends that came up from Florida, and some of my best friends on the planet that live here in Atlanta were here. And obviously your teammates, coaches, people who have helped me along the way. My teammates. It’s hard to put into words and I’ve got to do it in four or five minutes. I know there were some people I left out. I certainly didn’t do it on purpose. I just kind of had to wing it and throw everybody out to mention that I could. It’s hard to feel bad about the loss when everybody showed me such a great day. I wish we had played better. I wish I had played better. But that’s baseball. (On his speech prior to his last regular season game)

Chipper Jones: 1991 Topps [BGS 9.5]

Chipper Jones

Career Highlights & Accolades

8x All-Star Selection
2x Silver Slugger Award Winner
1995 World Series Champion
1999 National League Most Valuable Player

What do you think?

